• WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Hechtia glauca planting advice

Tracy

I have been growing my Hechtia glauca in a pot for several years now.  I was at the Huntington Gardens and saw a grouping planted in the ground in partial shade (getting at least late afternoon shade in summer).  It got me thinking about moving mine from a pot into the ground, as mine either needs to be planted up, or planted in the ground soon.  I know that the Huntington gets much warmer than I do in their cactus/succulent area.  So I'm wondering how much sun or shade to plant mine in.  Any other experience with them will be appreciated.  My potted plant has been on my Trex deck with gets quite hot, reflecting heat, with full sun to about 2pm, but I know that the ground here isn't nearly as hot as the deck can get.  The photo is one in the Huntington's collection.20160806-LI9A5614.thumb.jpg.10218f94ddc0

• Upvote 2

33.0782 North -117.305 West  at 72 feet elevation