• WELCOME GUEST

It looks as if you are viewing PalmTalk as an unregistered Guest.

Please consider registering so as to take better advantage of our vast knowledge base and friendly community.  By registering you will gain access to many features - among them are our powerful Search feature, the ability to Private Message other Users, and be able to post and/or answer questions from all over the world. It is completely free, no “catches,” and you will have complete control over how you wish to use this site.

PalmTalk is sponsored by the International Palm Society. - an organization dedicated to learning everything about and enjoying palm trees (and their companion plants) while conserving endangered palm species and habitat worldwide. Please take the time to know us all better and register.

guest Renda04.jpg

Transplanted Pygmy date palms

MelissaJitsu

Hello all!

I'm so glad I've found this forum! I'm new to Palm trees. My next door neighbor was going to have these beautiful pygmy date palms removed from her front yard because she was sick of being poked by them while gardening! I couldn't let them die, so with a shovel several hours later I had as much of their root balls dug up as was possible, they were in planters surrounded by bricks. Lots of little roots were cut :(

In a hurry, I tilled this front flower bed. Super hard clay soil here in Costa Mesa! As I turned the soil over I mixed in one bag of chicken manure, a big bag of soil amendment (picture attached), and two bags of gypsum. After I got the trees in the ground I've sprinkled worm castings around the surface because... Well worm castings. I started to put mulch down then I thought I better look into their care before I go further! Help! How do I keep them alive?! How can I help them heal their roots?? Also, one seems to have white powder all over new growth? Normal?

I've removed several fronds from each tree to try to take the load off of the roots. Any advice will be so appreciated!